Wayne State University

Aim Higher

MR Research Committee (MRRC)

The MRRC is responsible for the maintenance, administration and proper use of the equipment. Given the numerous regulations regarding safety and requests for machine time, at the request of the Chairman and other regulatory officials, this review committee has been formed. It is similar in function to those commonly found in other major MR Centers throughout the US. The committee's responsibility is to review applications for MR-related aspects that are not reviewed by other oversight committees (e.g., HIC, NIH, etc.).

Moreover, the MR research review committee is responsible with the assessment of a proposal for the following four issues:
  1. MR safety requirements
  2. Operational requirements
  3. Study design related to MR issues for unfunded pilot studies
  4. Priority of the proposal regarding magnet and personnel time
Committee Members:
Bruce Berkowitz, PhD, Director of 7T scannerbaberko@med.wayne.edu
Yu-Chung Norman Cheng, PhD, Director of the 3T scanneryxc16@wayne.edu
E. Mark Haacke, PhD, Radiology, Director of the MRRFnmrimaging@aol.com
Jiani Hu, PhD, Co-Director of the MRRFjhu@med.wayne.edu
Jeffrey Stanley, PhD, Psychiatry, Director of 11.7T scannerjstanley@med.wayne.edu
Pavan Jella, Radiology, MR Research Assistantdx4925@wayne.edu