COVID-19 Update

External Visitors/patients Screening | MRC COVID Policy | Health and safety guidelines | Updates

MR Research Committee (MRRC)

The MRRC is responsible for the maintenance, administration and proper use of the equipment. Given the numerous regulations regarding safety and requests for machine time, at the request of the Chairman and other regulatory officials, this review committee has been formed. It is similar in function to those commonly found in other major MR Centers throughout the US. The committee's responsibility is to review applications for MR-related aspects that are not reviewed by other oversight committees (e.g., HIC, NIH, etc.).

Moreover, the MR research review committee is responsible with the assessment of a pilot and funded proposal for the following four issues:
  1. MR safety requirements
  2. Operational requirements
  3. Study design related to MR issues for unfunded pilot studies
  4. Priority of the proposal regarding magnet and personnel time
3T Committee Members
E. Mark Haacke, PhD
Director of the MRRF
Department of Radiology
Jiani Hu, PhD
Co-Director of the MRRF
Department of Radiology
Yu-Chung Norman Cheng, PhD
Director of the 3T scanner
Department of Radiology
Jeffrey Stanley, PhD
Director of 11.7T
Department of Psychiatry
Pavan Jella, MS
MR Research Assistant
Department of Radiology
Yongsheng Chen, PhD
Assistant Professor
Department of Neurology

7T Committee Members
Bruce Berkowitz, PhD
Director of Animal 7T
Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology
Alana Conti, PhD
Associate Professor
Department of Pediatric Neurosurgery
Dr. Avril Genene Holt, PhD
Associate Professor
Department of Ophthalmology
Quan Jiang, PhD
Clinical Professor (FTA)
Department of Neurology